CMS Meaningful Use Provider Call

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is hosting a national provider call on Meaningful Use Stage 1 & 2 at 2p.m. on January 16, 2013.  Agenda items include:

  • Changes to Stage 1 criteria
  • Medicaid policies
  • Stage 2 overview
  • Medicare payment adjustments and exceptions

Click here to register.

Meaningful Use Monday: Changes To Stage 2 Rule

Earlier this month, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) issued an interim final rule which made changes to the Stage 2 electronic health records meaningful use program. The changes involve replacing some standards with more recent versions and changing or exempting some meaningful use measures to provide more flexibility. This interim final rule with comment period is effective January 7, 2013.

Click here to read more.

Meaningful Use Monday: Stage 2 EHR Standards More Stringent

Stage 2 Meaningful Use requirements, finalized late August by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), mandates doctors meet a larger number of core objectives during the next part of the three-stage program. Physicians also must adopt and demonstrate meaningful use of EHR systems by October 1, 2014, or be assessed a 1% penalty from Medicare.

Though CMS officials carved out several hardship exceptions to the noncompliance penalties,some which will require the reporting physician to complete an application prior to the penalty’s assessment, physician practices will be required to achieve more difficult objectives to demonstrate meaningful use of electronic health records to earn federal bonuses and prevent future penalties.

Click here to read more.

Meaningful Use Monday: Stage 2 Changes Hospitals, Physicians Should Consider

Under the Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health Act (HITECH), physicians, health care professionals and hospitals can qualify for Medicare and Medicaid incentive payments when they adopt and meaningfully use certified electronic health record technology.

While Stage 1 sets the basic functions electronic health records must include, Stage 2 (2014) increases health information exchange between providers and promotes patient engagement by giving patients secure online access to their health information.

Click here for tips for physicians and hospitals to satisfy Stage 2 Meaning Use to qualify for incentives.

Meaningful Use Stage 1 & 2 Comparative Charts

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has released a chart comparing Stage 1 & 2 of Meaningful Use.

The chart details the key differences between Stages 1 and 2 of the Meaningful Use (EHR) Incentive Program.  It encompasses the final core objectives, five new menu objectives and details future changes that will occur when transitioning to stage 2, which was recently delayed until 2014.

Click here to read more.

Meaningful Use Monday: Are Providers Ready For Stage 2?

According to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), providers have earned more than $5 billion in incentive payments for Meaningful Use of Electronic Medical Records (EMR). Through April, roughly 93,650 physicians and hospitals have received payments.

Though the eligible professionals and hospitals registered in the program continues to climb, the American Hospital Association (AHA) submitted a comment letter to CMS warning the requirements for Stage 2 are not feasible.  The AHA further warned elements of the proposed rule would “stand in the way of a successful program to support widespread adoption by all hospitals.”

Don’t wait until 2015 to be a meaningful user! Contact by HMS Healthcare Management Solutions and find out about our fully integrated, affordable, cloud-based EMR solutions!